Skip to content

Thirty

July 19, 2009
by

Today I turn thirty. This is not scary, upsetting, shocking, or even particularly interesting to anyone excluding myself and my parents. Today is however, like all birthdays, a time for reflection. I have nothing new to say about the meaning of life, but these are some of the things I’d like to do this year:

1. Ride my bike more. Life is infinitely better on a bike.

2. Watch less/play more basketball. When I was 13 and training for the NBA I had a consistent jumpshot and had loads more energy. I’d like both back.

3. Get the internet at home. Paying 3 dollars for 15 minutes at the local copy-shop is bankrupting me.

4. Start teaching ESL classes to immigrants.

5. Be nicer to people. Especially people I like. I’m so nice to strangers (OK, maybe not sooooo nice) but often treat my loved ones badly. I’m guessing its like that for most people.

6. Learn Italian–world’s most useful language.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon permalink
    July 19, 2009 3:32 pm

    Yes, definitely need to learn Italian! It IS the world’s most useful language. Recommend Florentine dialect.

  2. Thomas Wentworth Higginson permalink
    July 19, 2009 4:31 pm

    I wonder why people are often hardest on the people they care most about. Seems like that should be changeable with a determination to act in accord with the depth of feeling. Once you decide to do it, it becomes automatic.

Leave a Reply

